Latinx Press
Latinx Press Podcast
Listen to Henry's L.A. Libros Fest Panel
0:00
-39:06

Listen to Henry's L.A. Libros Fest Panel

Hi De Ho Closing, See you @ REVENGE OF this Saturday!
Transcript

No transcript...

2023 Libros Festival Panel: Exploring Family Heritage Through Graphic Novels With Henry Barajas at Central Libary in Downtown Los Angeles, CA. Photo taken by Keith Kesler.

I’m trying out this function of SubStack to share the audio of my panel from the L.A. Libros Festival. For those of you that know me, I freaking love the library. I always check out the library’s catalog before I buy any media because nine times out of ten, the library has my back.

You can only assume how honored I was to be at the Central Library in Downtown Los Angeles. The comics I have made with amazing artists have led me to this incredible life I can live—sharing our stories with the lovely people of this vast city.

I wanted to give a big shoutout to LA libreria Bookstore and all the volunteers that made that event worth the trip!

See you at REVENGE OF’s COMIC CREATORS BLOCK PARTY!

Jordan Blum was kind enough to slice me some space at Revenge Of’s Comic Creators Block Party from 5 to 7 p.m. on Saturday, October 28th. I’ll be tabling next to my best buddy, Hannah Rose May. There are so many people going to be there all day. There’s going to be prizes, food, and good vibes. They’ve got a ton of cool pinball machines, so come down and hang.

Bad news: Hi De Ho is closing.

Kristen Parraz and Henry Barajas at Hi De Ho Comics August 2022 in Santa Monica, CA.

Well, they’re closing their brick-and-mortar location in Santa Monica. Many things must be said about the shop’s historical significance and bridge between Hollywood and the medium. What I have to say is a bit more personal. When La Voz De MAYO, the single issue, was published through Kickstarter, they threw a party for me when I was handling fulfillment. La Voz wasn’t even at a major publisher, and they did that all for me. I was so touched by the party and friends that showed up. I’ll never forget that.

To me, Hi De Ho is Eddie and Kristen and their fantastic staff. Those people get it. Especially, Jules.

There are so many great comic shops near Santa Monica will pick up the slack for the now underserved community. Nothing lasts forever, but Hi De Ho didn’t have to close down.

Cool news: Helm Greycastle got some love on Roll20 during Latino Heritage Month!

As always…

Please check out today’s Gil Thorp strip, but don’t forget to click here when you read it. Thanks for your support.

0 Comments
Latinx Press
Latinx Press Podcast
LATINX PRESS PODCAST is here! Don't miss your host, Henry Barajas, interview and chat with the best in the comics business.
Listen on
Substack App
Spotify
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Henry Barajas